The Film Independent Spirit Awards celebrate the achievements of today’s most compelling filmmakers. For this exclusive program, members of Film Independent, FilmNorth and the Walker Art Center have the chance to see 15 of the year’s finest indie films—nominees for Best Feature, Best First Feature, Best Documentary—at no charge.

Current FilmNorth members may reserve up to 2 tickets per screening. Reservations are not required but are recommended to secure your spots. All screenings are at The Walker Cinema.

Wednesday, Feb 1st – Enjoy a drink from the cash bar, open 5:45–7 pm, followed by a 7 pm screening of The Inspection. A post-show Q&A will feature producer Effie T. Brown.

Click HERE to become a FilmNorth member or renew. Don’t know if your membership is current? Contact our membership director here.


FilmNºrth Members click HERE to reserve your seats.


2023 Screening Schedule


Tuesday, Jan 31

Women Talking, Sarah Polley (Best Feature), 6 pm

Our Father, the Devil, Ellie Foumbi (Best Feature), 8 pm


Wednesday, Feb 1

The Inspection, Elegance Bratton (Best First Feature), 7 pm

Producer Effie T. Brown in attendance.


Sunday, Feb 5

All That Breathes, Shaunak Sen (Best Documentary), 1 pm

Everything Everywhere All At Once, Daniel Kwan and Daniel Scheinert (Best Feature), 3 pm


Tuesday, Feb 7

Emily the Criminal, John Patton Ford (Best First Feature), 6 pm

Aftersun, Charlotte Wells (Best First Feature), 8 pm


Wednesday, Feb 8

A House Made of Splinters, Simon Lereng Wilmont (Best Documentary), 6 pm

Palm Trees and Power Lines, Jamie Dack (Best First Feature), 8 pm


Saturday, Feb 11

All the Beauty and the Bloodshed, Laura Poitras (Best Documentary), 3 pm


Tuesday, Feb 14

Bones and All, Luca Guadagnino (Best Feature), 7 pm


Wednesday, Feb 15

Murina, Antoneta Alamat Kusijanović (Best First Feature), 6 pm 

Riotsville, U.S.A., Sierra Pettengill (Best Documentary), 8 pm


Saturday, Feb 18

Midwives, Snow Hnin Ei Hlaing (Best Documentary), 1 pm

TÁR, Todd Field (Best Feature), 3 pm

Co-presented with the Walker Art Center.